Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

First timer, noob can't login

edited October 2007 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
Hi, i'm a noob I'll admit that now. Everything appeared to go as planned during the intallation. (I followed the instructions to a T) (this is also my first time with mysql but the database appears to be working fine and is set up with a user and pass and database called vanilla) From the users end I can see the forum, but when I try to login with my admin account I get "IE cannot display the webpage" error and the path changes in IE to http://localhost/Vanilla-1.1.3/people.php. On the server or locally I can get to the login screen and login with my admin account (so it says) but when I click on "click here for discussions" or "click to continue to catergories" or "review new memberships" it just takes me back to the initial forums screen and says that I am not signed in. The server is running on FC7 and has the latest version of php and mysql. Do I need to open any ports on my router to talk to mysql? I also saw a discussion about cookies but that was over my head. I also double checked all file permissions that were mentioned in the installation help file. Can someone enlighten me?

Comments

• Options
    Is your forum online? Can I register?
  • Options
    no, you can't register cause it doesn't work, all you can do is view the forum through your browser.
  • Options
    I just visited your forum, the link point to localhost.

you need to install vanilla from www.imahussey.com and not localhost.

If you just want to test it on your computer, install it on localhost, visit it on localhost and set the cookie domain to Configuration['COOKIE_DOMAIN'] = '';
  • Options