Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

newbie question

edited February 2006 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
Hi I’m newbie here and just wonder if vanilla can allows guest to start topic and post messages? Or is vanilla only for member? I was looking for forum that allows even guest to start tropic, post message etc, if user want to be anonymous sometimes. I also wonder hove they can see if they already have read topic or not, and hove they can see any new messages has posted in some topic?

Comments

• Guests cant post topics as there's nothing to tie the posts down to. You could make a guest account which is a half assed way of doing it. Otherwise you could attack the codebase with a rusty knife and hack some bits out of it (i'm not sure if it's possible as an extension in 0.9.3, it might be)

Guests having personalised forum experiences (read/unread/etc) is impossible due to the forum not being able to positively identify them. It could do it based on ip (again with an extension or some hacking) but that would be a very hit-and-miss way of doing it.

Course you could just turn automatic approval on and encourage users to join up and contribute beneficially :)
  • OK All forum should have functions for allow guest to post and start topic etc, because so they can to be anonymous sometimes. Or should have some “hide user name checkbox functionsâ€? if they want be anonymous sometimes. About link colour: Can I change topic link colour for (visited link)?? It’s very much easier to see topic link if the can be mark with visited colour, and if they are new post its turn back to original link colour. Whiteout this guest or colour function in any forum, is not user friendly. I hope at least this colour function works with vanilla?
  • lechlech Chicagoland