Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Announce post in a single fixed category

I have created a separate category where i want only announced post to appear. I want to do this in such a way that i don't change the main category of the post. So if post "abcdef" belongs to category "xyz". It can also belong to category "123" where it is announced without losing its initial "abcdef" category.

Please anyone know how i can achieve this? I'm just a beginner in web programming with full html and css knowledge

Comments

• hgtonighthgtonight ∞ · New Moderator

Sounds like a fairly simple modification to the ZeroCounts plugin: https://github.com/hgtonight/Plugin-ZeroComments/blob/master/class.zerocomments.plugin.php

We want a new endpoint called announcements. It should act like a normal discussion page. There should be a link in the discussion filter menu to see this page.

public function DiscussionsController_Announcements_Create($Sender, $Args = array()) {
        $this->CustomView = TRUE;
        $Sender->View = 'Index';
        $Sender->SetData('_PagerUrl', 'discussions/announcements/{Page}');
        $Sender->Index(GetValue(0, $Args, 'p1'));
      }

public function DiscussionsController_Render_Before($Sender) {
        if($this->CustomView) {
          $Sender->SetData('CountDiscussions', Gdn::Cache()->Get('AnnouncementList-Count'));
        }
      }

public function DiscussionsController_AnnouncementsCount_Create($Sender) {
        $Count = Gdn::SQL()->GetCount('Discussion', array('Announce' => 'is not 0'));
        Gdn::Cache()->Store('AnnouncementList-Count', $Count, array(Gdn_Cache::FEATURE_EXPIRY => 15 * 60));
        $Sender->SetData('UnrequitedCount', $Count);
        $Sender->SetData('_Value', $Count);
        $Sender->Render('Value', 'Utility', 'Dashboard');