Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Permissions and setup issues

edited June 2006 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
Summary: automatic installer throwing permission errors when I attempt to run installer.php on Vanilla v 0.9.2.6.

Hi, I'm a Vanilla newbie and REALLY want to get my installation up and running ASAP. I'm not technical as many are here but not completely clueless either (depends on your persepective of course so bear with me).

After following the automated installation instructions to the letter on two different hosts (I use 1 & 1 and MediaTemple) Vanilla tells me I need to change my file permission to read/write on selected files. No problem. I granted read/write/exectute permission (777) on the entire Vanilla directory and contents and still nothing. The same exact thing happens on both my 1&1 mySQL database and MediaTemple mySQL database. I know the database settings I am using are good because they work fine on my Wordpress blog installations.

I am looked at the troubleshooting section but no joy there.

I DID try the manual config instructions but I'm beyond my knowledge on this because when I run either of the two shown mySQL commands shown from the instructions on my SSH client I get an 'Invalid Command' error. I did follow the syntax exactly and have tried it a half dozen times. I'm at the limit of my knowledge on using SSH and running commands - if I'm not just copying something and following instructions I have NO clue how to diagnose myself.

Shown below is the ugly ugly list of errors I receive from the automated installer.

Comments

• that's a very short list...

this problem has been discussed (over and over) here. a quick comment search for 'permissions' should bring up several threads.