Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

How to: Extracting email addresses from your vanilla database.

edited February 2007 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
This is, "for me", a simple way to extract email addresses. Great if you'd like to send out a newsletter to your members. This script is not intended to be placed anywhere within the vanilla installation folder/directory.

Im no PHP expert so there may me a more efficient way to access the database and display the results but this is a function I compiled to handle all of my query's.

I have this in my header file, which is not located anywhere within the vanilla installation:
<?php # my function for handling query's function funcSql($table,$type,$query){ mysql_pconnect(localhost,"USER","PASSWORD"); @mysql_select_db($table) or die("Unable to select database"); if($type=="SELECT"){ global $result; global $num; $result=mysql_query($query); $num=mysql_num_rows($result); }elseif($type=="INSERT" || $type=="UPDATE" || $type=="DELETE"){ $result=mysql_query($query); } } # handy little function to print out the array. function printr($array_string){ echo '<pre>'; print_r($array_string); echo '</pre>'; } ?>

Now this will output all of the email addresses into an array, you can easily work from there.

<?php funcSql("TABLE_NAME","SELECT","SELECT * FROM LUM_User"); //LUM_User should be the correct table to extract from. for($i=0;$i<$num;$i++){ $emails[] = mysql_result($result,$i,"Email"); } printr($emails); ?>

Hope this helps some people. Once I finish the newsletter script "that all of the above was intended for" I will update this "Discussion", shouldn't be longer than a day or two. -- If you need need help understanding my jibberish, or have a way I can improve the code above please share! =]

Comments

• edited February 2007
    edit