Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Help with Japanese language, willing to pay..

edited January 2008 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
Hi there. First of all, I looked at the UTF-8 documentation someone on this board linked in similar threads but I could not seem to get this going. Whenever I type in Japanese characters they are displayed ???? when posted. I'm not a coder or a good user of mysql(database?) so I need help trying to get this working in Japanese so that the characters are displayed correctly. I'm willing to pay a small amount of $ via paypal anyone can help on this. Thank you. ありがと。

Comments

• hi,
    I contributed to most of utf-8 topics here and also wrote the wiki documentation page.
    I have not much spare time right now, but if you mail me a login to your sql/php server, I'll have a quick look. My mail is public on my profile page.
  • Thanks emailed.
  • Max_BMax_B New
    edited December 2007
    For the record and other folks in the same situation:
    The forum installation were is the "weird" state (using wiki tutorial chart). Because the provider is using cPanel by default and this one does not offer encoding setting, the database was latin-1. Launching phpMyAdmin from the cPanel home page, and setting the database to utf-8 was the missing step.
    Vanilla being correctly set up, Japanese characters were lost because there is no equivalent in latin-1.
    Correction was simply to apply the steps outlined in the wiki tutorial.
  • Andy KAndy K
    edited January 2008
    Max B: You are a wonderful, wonderful person.