Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Zooming on particular discussion from an external application embedding Vanilla

BeyBey
edited December 2011 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8

I am a novice Vanilla user, using Vanilla 2.18.1 on Windows, trying to get my feet wet on a locally hosted Vanilla.

What i am looking to do is have the application (within which Vanilla is embedded) issue a URL using a particular syntax that will be intercepted in Vanilla and based on the parameters specified in the incoming URL, redirect to either a new discussion (within a category - implied in the original URL) or join an existing discussion within that category.
I assume categories are implemented and user profile has sufficient access rights.

For obvious reasons, i would like to implement it as a plugin.

I think i understand well enough the structure of the URL i need to construct (in either case).
My attempts to implement this using discussions controller 'before render' failed because Vanilla issues a 404 before it even gets to display the main page's discussions.
I tested by issuing the URL directly on the browser just to get the concept going.

So, my thought was to implement it as a Vanilla search and use the searchcontroller before_render event.
I noticed that the search controller is not within the applications folder hierarchy (does that make a difference for the implementation?)

Is this a valid approach?
Is there a better way to doing that?

Much appreciated.

Bey

Best Answer

• ToddTodd Vanilla Staff
    edited December 2011 Answer ✓

I'm not sure what you're asking for exactly, but you should maybe just create a new url to do this. Here is a bit of starter code that you'd put into a discussion.

public function DiscussionController_Presto_Create($Sender, $New = FALSE, $Slug = '') {