Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Plugin Problems

BeyBey
edited January 2012 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8

Background:

I am a noob using Vanilla on a local host Win7 machine.
I wrote a simple plugin that uses the DiscussionsController_Render_Before event to intercept an incoming url and either zoom in on a given discussion (add a comment to it) or start a new one within a category (derived from a variable in the URL). The DiscussionsController_Render_Before, based on the URL variables either does nothing or redirects to a new discussion page or to an existing discussion.

Problem:

This worked for a while just fine but, when i wanted to test this plugin starting from scratch (a new database then enable the plugin) every time a redirect was called for, the Login page appeared even though the user was logged in (as indicated on the page where the login form was presesnted).

What would cause Vanilla to surmize that a login page should be displayed when a user is actually logged in?

Much appreciated

Tagged:

Best Answers

• Options
    hbfhbf wiki guy? MVP
    Answer ✓

for me it's been caused by something invalidating the session or cookie, like crossing between domains or something.

• Options
    hbfhbf wiki guy? MVP
    Answer ✓

Bey said:
    Thanks.

Just in case there is something common between our cases, how did you resolve / get around your issue?

I don't think domain crossing is relevant in my case as I test my plugin by clicking on urls in a Microsoft Word document.

I am not sure about cookies but I did go through the exercise of deleting cookies and files using the browser Options.