Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Plugin Problems - Part 2

BeyBey
edited January 2012 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8

Background:

I am a noob using Vanilla on a local host Win7 machine. I wrote a simple plugin that uses the DiscussionsController_Render_Before event to intercept an incoming url and either zoom in on a given discussion (add a comment to it) or start a new one within a category (derived from a variable in the URL). The DiscussionsController_Render_Before, based on the URL variables either does nothing or redirects to a new discussion page or to an existing discussion.

Problem:

A previous post described a problem encountered with the redirection aspect, namely, the display of the Login page instead of the target page redirected to. However, when the redirection commences properly, there is still an issue with the posting of the new discussion in the 'Start a New Discussion' page (note: redirecting to an existing discussion works fine).

The problem is that when one clicks the Post Discussion button (afer both, title and body are populated), the form 'tries' to post the discussion (as evident from the animation to the left of the Cancel button) but the post is not completed and the page is redisplayed. At this point, if one just clicks the Post Discussion button again, the post commences and the discussion is saved to the database.

Here is an example of the New Discussion page being redirected to:

http://localhost:3000/bey/index.php?p=/Post/Discussion/2&Title=Request-69

Here, 2 is the ID of the appropriate category for this particular case.