Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Where in the Embed-Friendly Theme can I change font size for threads?

edited January 2012 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8

Hi, I'm a beginner with Vanilla, and also with CSS/HTML.

I simply wish to change the font size for the text in my Vanilla forums, which is running the provided Embed-Friendly theme. I can't even find where the font family and size is defined. I assume it's in one of the CSS files in the ..vanilla/themes/EmbedFriendly/ area.

Can anyone tell me where it is to be found? If that's not a daft question. Well, some help would be appreciated even if it IS...

Thanks

Answers

• Options
    whu606whu606 I'm not a SuperHero; I just like wearing tights... MVP
    edited January 2012

DocH

It's pulling many of its rules from the default Vanilla css file, but it's better not to edit that.

In your Vanilla folder there is a themes folder, and in that one called EmbedFriendly.

Inside the design folder in there is a css file called custom.css

add the following line:

.MessageList {font-size:14px;}

changing the font size to the px you want.

If you use Firebug with Firefox, you can inspect any element on a page, and see what rule affects it. You can make changes in the right hand pane, and see immediately what the change will do.

I'm not trying to puff my own stuff, but if you are relatively new to css (as I am) I uploaded a theme called annotated_css which contains rules to change the common elements in Vanilla, along with notes as to what they do, so it might be worth playing with that for a while.

You can then copy any rules from there into the Embed custom.css file.

• Options

Thanks whu606. Appreciate it a lot.

I hadn't come across Firebug before - very helpful. But still a bit perplexing.