Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Installing XAMPP to create a localhost for Vanilla

edited April 2006 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
I was wondering if anyone could provide me with some help setting up a localhost to test vanilla on. I'm using XAMPP made by Apache Friends because what I've read makes me believe it might be easy to set up. So far it's been alright, however I can't seem to find any documentation on their site, nor a link to their forum. My problem is that in the status of my local setup it says my MySQL database is deactivated, however I don't know how you activate it. Does anyone know how I do this? Maybe you can suggest another method for setting up a local version of vanilla, however I'm a bit of a newb when it comes to this sort of stuff. Best reagards

Comments

• Linux?
  • Sorry I should have mentioned the platform. I'm currently using it on Mac OS X. Having a further look, I have found some terminal commands via http://www.apachefriends.org/en/xampp-macosx.html#903. Sorry to have bothered you. My next task will be to see if I can get it to php4 for Vanilla.
  • You could try this guide for installing PHP http://developer.apple.com/internet/opensource/php.html And use the MySQL package for Mac OS X http://mysql.he.net/Downloads/MySQL-4.1/mysql-standard-4.1.18-apple-darwin8.2.0-powerpc.dmg I've used the MySQL package for Ruby on Rails with no problems, but I've never tried to install PHP locally.
  • edited April 2006
    Thanks c-unit. I'll check those out. I think I already have MySQL installed, just not sure how I would set up my mac to act as the server now. (also bare in mind, I know little php and sql just enough to set up applications like Vanilla and WordPress)