Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Help needed executing js on pages other than discussion page (1st plugin attempt)

whu606whu606 I'm not a SuperHero; I just like wearing tights... MVP
edited June 2012 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8

Background - I'm a happy amateur, who can follow instructions to add js elements to my sites, but don't know anything about js coding itself.

Thanks to the Interwebby and the kindness of strangers, plus the Vanilla WIki, I have added a 'slide out on click' feature to hold the panel elements, which stays on the page as it scrolls down, to my testing Vanilla site, and it works fine when I have the js calls in the Head section of my default.master.php file.

I was experimenting with making this a plugin (partly for the experience, but also in case others found it useful.)

I set up my plugin.php file, and a slider.js file, and everything works fine on the discussion page, but the following code (in slider.js) doesn't 'fire' on other pages, even though slider.js is loaded in the source html of the other pages.

$(document).ready(function(){

$( '#example' ).scrollFollow();

$(".label2").click(function(){
        $(".slide2").toggle("fast");
        $(this).toggleClass("active");
        return false;
    });

$(".label1").click(function(){
        $(".slide1").toggle("fast");
        $(this).toggleClass("active");
        return false;
    });

});

This is called from my plugin.php file like this:

class SliderPlugin extends Gdn_Plugin {

public function AddJsCss($Sender) {

$Sender->AddCSSFile('testslide.css', 'plugins/Slider');
$Sender->AddJsFile('plugins/Slider/js/slider.js');
$Sender->AddJsFile('plugins/Slider/js/jquery.scrollFollow.js');
$Sender->AddJsFile('plugins/Slider/js/ui.core.js');
$Sender->AddJsFile('plugins/Slider/js/jquery.js');

}