Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Category icons instead of user user avatars

ZhaanZhaan Professional fool ✭✭
edited December 2012 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8

G'day folks! I'm interested in displaying custom category icons next to every topic, similar to how IndexPhotos works. Is this possible?

I'm not very good at coding, so this is beyond me for now. ><

Any input will be appreciated.

Here's a quick mockup for reference:

Comments

• Options
    KasperKasper Scholar of the Bits Copenhagen Vanilla Staff

This should do the trick:

public function DiscussionsController_BeforeDiscussionContent_Handler($Sender) {
        $this->CategoryIcon($Sender);
    }

public function CategoriesController_BeforeDiscussionContent_Handler($Sender) {
        $this->CategoryIcon($Sender);
    }

protected function CategoryIcon($Sender) {
        $Category = $Sender->EventArguments["Discussion"]->CategoryUrlCode;
        echo "<div class='CategoryIcon Category-$Category'></div>";
    }

Now you have an element with the category url code as an identifier that you can style to your liking.

Kasper Kronborg Isager (kasperisager) | Freelance Developer @Vanilla | Hit me up: Google Mail or Vanilla Mail | Find me on GitHub

• Options

It seems my mockup isn't showing: http://i5.minus.com/jk41SRlzssRFY.png

@kasperisager Thanks a lot, I'll play around with that!

• Options
    peregrineperegrine MVP
    edited December 2012

at the same time you Kasper posted above, I was testing this.

add this to your themehooks.

tested on 2.1

public function DiscussionsController_AfterDiscussionLabels_Handler($Sender, $Args) {

$Object = ($Sender->EventArguments['Discussion']);
        $cat = $Object->CategoryUrlCode;
        $theme = $Sender->Theme;