Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Creating Groups?

Is there a way (or is this planned) to create groups in Vanilla, without resorting to one of the non-reviewed plugins or fiddling with the Roles & Permissions features? I'm looking at creating a forum for a client and we need to have some segmentation in the forum. The problem with relying on Roles is that it's more difficult to manage roles across the platform, for this purpose, than to grant users the ability to join an individual group or a few groups. As for the plugins, I'd much rather stay with reviewed/approved plugins esp since I'm new to Vanilla.

Tagged:

Answers

• Options
    vrijvlindervrijvlinder Papillon-Sauvage MVP

There is no groups plugin, you can however create a "group" category which you could control via permissions. You could make the person who started the group a moderator for that particular group.

• Options

Groups is a feature that IMO has not been effectively integrated into any forum platform that I know of. Can you explain what features you would like to see in groups and how they interact with the regular forum?

• Options

Thanks for these thoughts.

We've used BuddyPress in the past, and that has the option to have distinct groups each with their own forum or to have groups with no separate forum but rather a central forum which group members can post to. Now I realize BuddyPress is not itself a forum but rather can contain forums, and is set up to do more than a forum alone does. However it does implement the Groups feature pretty well. The reason I'm looking to implement something other than BuddyPress for this project is due to its lack of integration with Tapatalk/ForumRunner.