Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

How role permissions are verified for a category with custom permissions?

Hi all, I'm new with Vanilla. I'm evaluating PHP Forums to create my company's forum.
What I need is to have different categories for different clients and one client should not see another client's categories/messages/etc.

I setup a couple of users, and assigned them new roles (client1, client2), then create a couple of categories with custom permissions, and enabled add/view permissions for the correspondent clientX role and disabled all permissions for other roles.

Here comes my question!
At the category custom permissions setup, I can see default roles like "applicant" or "guest". What I need to know is how permissions are verified, e.g. If I assign roles "client1" and "applicant", both with "add" permission, to the category "client1", does Vanilla check if the user is an "applicant" OR "client1", or an "applicant" AND "client1". (I don't want applicants to see "client1" category).

Thanks a lot!
Pablo.
www.cabolabs.com

BTW: the install process is great, and the config is very intuitive with good references to the documentation.

Best Answer

Answers

• Anybody knows what's the criteria when checking role authorization (r1 and r2 vs. r1 or r2)? or at least, where can I find the code where this is done? thanks.

• x00x00 MVP
    edited February 2013

to save confusion lets call your category catogory1.

the rules are additive.

so, if someone has the permission applicant and you clear the view permission for category1 it will not be able to see it. However if they have both applicant and client1 they will be able to see it. This is a clearly a 0+1 scenario. Applicants will not be able to see category1 so long as they are just applicants.