Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

I'm new, have questions, need direction (but not spoon feeding)

Okay, this is going to be a somewhat long post so I apologize but I have a lot of questions. I have a site that is currently running SMF that I need to perform migration/update/major surgery on. I won't go into all the issues I have with SMF but suffice it to say a good idea started it up and somehow SMF painted itself into a corner and the project has approached near stagnation. I started using SMF because of the bombastic nature of the vbulletin and phpbb interfaces.

Me, I'm a ex OLTP developer turned system admin in the 1980's and from there I wrote OS utility code for OpenVMS. For the past 4+ year I have been a redhat admin. I don't have the time to learn php though I wish I did. So here is what I am looking to do. I have done a few drupal sites and am pretty comfortable there. I initially was looking to do a drupal commons or totem implementation with a migrated forum using the drupal advanced forum module. While I like drupal a lot, the forum software “just isn't there” yet and may not be for quite some time.

I also toyed with the orchid module for drupal, but it's not doing exactly what I want it to. It is essentially dropping the forum in an iframe-like manner. My desire was to have it use and API-like interface and integrate the navigation into the drupal structure via translations through a common means. That of course would be a fairly extensive piece of software. But it would then be portable to WP, Joomla and a host of others. The CSS translations among a host of other things could be problematic though.