Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Images for the category page?

Hello all, I'm pretty new to this sort of thing and I tried to use the search function to no avail. This is what I mean.

I'd like to be able to make this my starting page of my forum and make these have cool little banner thingamabobs. I'm ok with going to the default theme if that will make it easier to find what I need to change to make this happen.

Sorry for being a burden.

Tagged:

Comments

• R_JR_J Ex-Fanboy Munich Admin

You could style them already! Look at the HTML and you will find something like that:
    <li class="Item Depth1 Category-yourcategoryhere Unread">
    So you have to create a custom theme and in your custom.css, you could style each category with something like that

.Category-yourcategoryhere {
      background-image: url("http://w3.vanillicon.com/32096de02123828b2dbcd51bb30a65b7_50.png");
      background-position: center top;
      background-repeat: no-repeat;
    }

• @vrijvlinder said:
    Yes, I think you could use this plugin http://vanillaforums.org/addon/categoryimageheader-plugin

Unfortunately, that only applies once you actually click the page. I wanted to use vanilla/categories/all as the homepage of the site and have banners.

@R_J said:
    You could style them already! Look at the HTML and you will find something like that:
    <li class="Item Depth1 Category-yourcategoryhere Unread">
    So you have to create a custom theme and in your custom.css, you could style each category with something like that

.Category-yourcategoryhere {
      background-image: url("http://w3.vanillicon.com/32096de02123828b2dbcd51bb30a65b7_50.png");
      background-position: center top;
    }