Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

How to set Default in Q&A Plugin

I'm trying to make "ask a question" not be the default.
I'd prefer the default to be "Start a discussion".
I like the plugin but am not looking to turn the whole forum into a Q&A FAQ thing.
Even better is there a way to Only allow it Under a specific category?

Comments

• Hi there,

I'm no expert here but wouldn't modifying the locale.php achieve this result?

If you've not created one yet, create a file called "locale.php" and upload to "/conf/".

Inside the file, include the following:

<?php if (!defined('APPLICATION')) exit();
    $Definition['TEXT_HERE'] = 'TRANSLATION_HERE';

So for example, if those specific words you're wanting to change are "ask a question", use:

<?php if (!defined('APPLICATION')) exit();
        $Definition['ask a question'] = 'Start a Discussion';

Hope this helps. You can find more information on translations / local files here:

http://vanillawiki.homebrewforums.net/index.php/Locales
    http://vanillaforums.org/page/localization

• @OurWebMedia said:
    Hi there,
    I'm no expert here but wouldn't modifying the locale.php achieve this result?

That won't do. It would just change the label on the buttons, not their behaviour. A solution would be to override, in the theme, the qnapost.php view that comes with the Q&A plugin, and change this line:

<?php echo $Form->RadioList('Type', array('Question' => T('Ask a Question'), 'Discussion' => T('Start a New Discussion'))); ?>

to this:

<?php echo $Form->RadioList('Type', array('Question' => T('Ask a Question'), 'Discussion' => T('Start a New Discussion')), array('Default' => 'Discussion')); ?>

I haven't tested it, but it should default the selection to Discussion.

• the line I see is in /plugins/views