Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

I want to switch from bbpress to Vanilla, need help!

Hi,

I recently started a small gaming community that currently uses bbpress for the forums. It didn't take too long to realize that this software is very simplistic and limiting. The only reason I even went with bbpress in the first place is because I thought that I could only use wordpress plugins since I have a wordpress site (sorry, I'm very new to all of this). Over the holiday I found out about vanilla's open source software and after looking into it, it seems like the way to go. However, in order for me to move forward I need to have a few questions answered.

1. Can I migrate all existing forums/topics/users to vanilla once installed, or do I have to start fresh? This wouldn't be too big a deal if I cannot since the forums have only been open one week, but it would be ideal.

2. Will my current theme work with vanilla forums? I'm using minamaze, a free wordpress theme that has bbpress integration. Since I isn't designed for vanilla I'm wondering if I can even use it. If so I'm sure I'll have to modify the theme's code, right?

3. How do I set it all up? I have watched a couple of YouTube videos on how to set it up, but the scenarios are a little different. I am running wordpress 4.1 and want to install/integrate vanilla 2.1.6 to my website.

Here is a link to my website: http://forgehaven.com/

Best Answer

Answers

• peregrineperegrine MVP
    edited December 2014

If it were me I would start fresh, instead of converting, since it is only a week old. And you want have to worry about any conversion issues that could arise.

you can check out porter if you decide to convert, which in your case might not be advantageous.