HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Category specific code on top each post

Please, I'll like to add code on top of every post a user posts on my forum.

I would have used the POCKETS plugin, but I want every category or subcategory to have its own specific code that I can edit anytime.

Specifically, I want to add HTML code that can play/stream audio while the users discuss.

Different categories will have different stream links.

Please help me, I'm building a discussion forum for community interests and I am a novice.

Thank you

Comments

• R_JR_J Ex-Fanboy Munich Admin

Here is some untested code (but I assume it should work) which you certainly would have to customize and wrap up in a plugin of your own:

public function pocketsPlugin_toString_handler($sender, $args) {
           $controllerName = Gdn::controller()->ControllerName;
           // Only continue when viewing a discussion.
           if ($controllerName !== 'discussioncontroller') {
               return;
           }
           $categoryID = Gdn::controller()->CategoryID;
           $pocketName = $args['Pocket']->Name;

$pocketMatrix = [
               'Some Pocket Name' => [1, 2, 6],
               'Another Pocket Name' => [4, 5, 6],
               'The Last Pocket Name' => [9]
           ];

$allowedCategoryIDs = $pocketMatrix[$pocketName] ?? [];
           // Pocket is not in our matrix, so return to normal processing.
           if ($allowedCategoryIDs === []) {
               return;
           }
           // Current category is where this pocket should be shown.
           if (in_array($categoryID, $allowedCategoryIDs)) {
               return;
           }

// a) Current pocket is in our matrix and b) not in an allowed category
           // Make the body an empty string so that nothing will be shown.
           $args['Pocket']->Body = '';
       }