HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Is Vanilla for me?

Hello,

I'm trying to set up a forum to deal with a specific mental health thing, so that people can come together and support each other. I am not a programming genius although I can code a basic nice looking site.

After being super excited thinking I could write my own forum software, I quickly (instantly) dropped that idea the second I realized that it's an insane project for one person to undertake, let alone maintain and update.

So I started looking at different forum software, but it's very hard for me to get a good overview because each site mentions its software's strengths and functionality differently. I have the following needs:

• Free software in case of self hosting on own domain(which I will do)
  • Extendable with plugins
  • Ability to have a time-tracking plugin on a person's profile
  • Ability to have custom stats on a profile people can see
  • Admin + mods
  • Email confirmation, spam protection
  • Lots of customization (theming and location of certain items on page) through hopefully something like CSS.

I think that's it - would you guys say that Vanilla would work for me?

Thank you kindly and I'm looking forward to your answers.😀

Comments

• Options

Free software in case of self hosting on own domain(which I will do)

Yes

Extendable with plugins

Yes

Ability to have a time-tracking plugin on a person's profile

I don't know of such a plugin, but it could certainly be written depending on your proficiency in PHP

Ability to have custom stats on a profile people can see

If you mean custom profile fields, then yes, that plugin is included

Admin + mods

Yes

Email confirmation, spam protection

Yes

Lots of customization (theming and location of certain items on page) through hopefully something like CSS.