Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Installation for Dummies

edited July 2005 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
Hello! I'm trying to set up a forum for our new website, and thought I'd give Vanilla a try. However, the whole process is a little confusing to me--I only know what about 1/3 of this stuff even means. I'm a writer, not a web designer. So, assuming it would be easier, I ran the automated installation. This is the error I get: " Vanilla Installation Wizard (Step 1 of 3)"); if ($WarningCollector->Count() > 0) { echo(" Oops. We came across some problems while checking your permissions... ".$WarningCollector->GetMessages()." " As if that's not bad enough (is it? I don't know, really), it goes on to say that I need to set up my permissions properly. I haven't a clue how to do this. It tells me how if I have a *nix server with command line access. Once again, I don't know what that means, but I'm pretty sure I don't have it. I can figure the rest out--hopefully--but those first two bits have me stuck. Do you think this stuff is over my head, or do you think I can get by with a little help? Any assistance is greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    lamentlament
    edited July 2005
    what FTP client are you using to upload the files to your server?

try using Filezilla, then you can just right-click the directory and set the permissions without having to know command line stuff.
  • Options
    should be equally as easy to change the permissions if you've got cuteFTP... have a gander at http://support.discusware.com/center/resources/howto/chmod.html
  • Options
    edited July 2005