Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

MONTHLY COUNTER QUESTION (for PHP pro's)

edited February 2007 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
Hi.. i know that many of you know php well, and i need your help, guys.. i need to make a counter, which would nullify on the 00:00:01 of the first day of each month.. so,,, it would count the quantity of occurances of something during a month,, and then simply return to zero with the start of a new month... i am coding in php.. what would you advise?

i am a noob in php, however I can code relatively simple web-applications, so i think technical terms i will understand...

this will be an online book-keeping application for a furniture retailer.,.. I am using php and mysql on apache

hope for your help

thanks in advance

Comments

• NickENickE New
    edited December 2006
    I would store the month of the last counter increment somewhere, then check to see if the current month was different than the stored one. If it is, update month and reset counter to 0. Besides that it would probably be just incrementing a counter.
  • Should be fairly easy. Make a two-column table in the database where you store a value between 1-12 representing the last month changed, and the current counter value. You have one php function that returns the counter value from the database, one function that increments that value, and one that updates the month changed and counter number. At the beginning of "return counter value", you simply check if (currentMonth != databaseMonth) and reset the counter and databaseMonth appropriately.
  • thanks... basically, i had the same idea in my head... only the problem was that i could not put it to action.. i thought that there is maybe some generally accepted way of doing it.. thanks guys... i'll try..
  • edited December 2006