Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Three formatting/quotations problems

AprecheApreche
edited May 2007 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
So I've been running a Vanilla forum for quite sometime now. There are plenty of users and posts, and everything is going nicely. There are however, three related issues I would like to resolve. They are related issues, and I'm hoping they can be solved with one stone rather than three. I'm a programmer by trade, and I've thought of many solutions, but I've done relatively little work with Vanilla itself, so I'm wondering what you guys think. I'm going to be updating all the services and web applications on my hosting sometime in the near future, and I'd like to take that opportunity to fix things like this. The first problem is the radio buttons below the comment box. My users are not all very quick. They often post comments without selecting the proper radio button. They will make an HTML link and not click the Html radio button. This creates extra work for moderators who have to edit these posts to properly set the formatting. I would like to either have only one formatting option which will properly format posts no matter if users use BBCode, Html or text. I know that's difficult, so second best would be to have Vanilla somehow automatically detect and select the correct formatting option. The second problem is that our database is full of unformatted posts. It would be quite the pain to go through every thread to find posts written in HTML that are rendered as text to change them all. So I need some way to go through the database and detect what format a posts should have, and set it properly. The final problem is the quotations extension. The quotations extension can be easily configured to use BBCode or Html. However, many users click the quote