Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

setting up a forum; error message

edited August 2007 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
i'm trying to set up a discussion forum. i'm a complete novice; i'm using vanilla, godaddy hosting, and the forum is to be at cumbric.net first, this is the instruction i'm trying to follow: [I][B]Once you have your file permissions set up properly, open up your web browser of choice and point yourself to the location on your server where you uploaded Vanilla to. It will automatically point you towards the setup script. On the first page here, you will be reminded once again to make sure all of the proper files and folders have read and write access.[/B][/I] i presume the location to go in my browser is the same location where i'd go to sign into the discussion forum once its all uploaded etc? - ie. cumbric.net ? but if i go there, i get this error message: [I][B]Forbidden You don't have permission to access / on this server. Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request. Apache/1.3.33 Server at www.cumbric.net Port 80[/B][/I] so does this mean i've done the previous bit wrong? ie i havent granted the right permissions properly?

Comments

• Options
    Might want to try using HTML and setting the Format comment as to "Html"...
  • Options
    edited August 2007
    (deleted text)
  • Options
    edited August 2007
    Just highlight the conf folder inside the cumbric folder. However, since you are getting that forbidden message at the top-level folder, you might have to change the permissions there also--to allow read and execute (755).

Another possible cause of issues like this is accidentally uploading the Vanilla files as binary instead of ascii.