Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Permissions and extensions

edited November 2007 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
I am a newbie and it feels like a miracle that I actually have a forum up and ready to go. A number of my extensions are not working. I read the troubleshooting and understand that this usually has to do with permissions. I think I understand what to do, but need to clarify. In the Troubleshooting section it says: Vanilla saves configuration settings to the conf/settings.php file instead of the database in order to keep the application lean and fast. In order to allow Vanilla to make changes to those files, you must give your web server permission to write to the conf files. ... In order to fix these problems there are two methods for linux/unix servers. You either need to chmod the files so that the web server has permission to edit them, or you need to chown the files so that the web server owns the files and can retain full control over them. You can chmod the files so that they are wide open to all users on the server with a command like: chmod --recursive 777 /path/to/vanilla/conf/ Here is where I need clarification: Using my ftp client, Cyberduck, do I simply go to "Send Command" , write "chmod --recursive 777 /path/to/vanilla/conf/" and hit send? Is it that simple? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Comments

• Options
    Don't know about Cyberduck (I use Interarchy), simply select the folder and see if you have a CHMOD or change permissions function.

Are you sure it needs to be 777? I am away from my access point at the moment, maybe someone else can chime in?
  • Options
    777 is usually a good place to start for troubleshooting but you can probably drop it to 666 or 644 depends how your server is set up.
  • Options