Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Searching with UTF-8 Character Set

2»

Comments

• Options
    Do you guys feel this change (removing the line) should be changed in the release source too? Is it likely to have any ill effects?
  • Options
    Thank you guys a lot!

@minisweeper: I am not an expert for MySQL. But in my installations (on the live server and on my development servers) I have not seen any negative side effects. MySQL seems to behave case insensitive with the generated search strings. Even if this was not the case, does it make any sense to change the case of the search string, thus changing the user's "search intention"? So all in all: Yes, as far as I can see, it would make sense to change the release source, too. (I would be proud to have contributed at least a very small piece to Vanilla...)

I have received final information from the hosting company, and I did some final research and thinking:

On my (Debian) live server there is a bunch of locales installed:

de_DE ISO-8859-1
    de_DE.UTF-8 UTF-8
    de_DE@euro ISO-8859-15
    en_US ISO-8859-1
    pl_PL ISO-8859-2
    nl_NL@euro ISO-8859-15
    fr_FR@euro ISO-8859-15
    cs_CZ ISO-8859-2
    tr_TR ISO-8859-9
    sv_SE ISO-8859-1
    ru_RU KOI8-R
    pt_PT ISO-8859-1
    es_ES ISO-8859-1

So in my case de_DE.UTF-8 would be the right choice. If I include an additional line saying

setlocale (LC_CTYPE, 'de_DE.UTF-8');

immediately before the line in question, searching will work even if I leave everything else intact. But setlocale should be used with caution (see PHP documentation), and it makes things even more complicated (as you would need to include the right locale for your language...)