Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Ihave this problem with MySQL.....

edited February 2008 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
Hey :: I have the next message in the install.php page It appears as though you do not have MySQL enabled for PHP. You will need a working copy of MySQL and PHP's MySQL extensions enabled in order to run Vanilla. What Im doing wrong ??? or Whats wrong ??? Thanks !!!!! Im new with this things

Comments

• It appears that you do not have mysql installed. And you need it. I'd suggest you ask your host about that.
  • Ok ... I re-install MySQl 5.0 and run the installer and appears the same error ... so how I can enabled MySQL for PHP or what I have to do .... HELP Im new on this !!!! Please ..... snif, snif ..... Thanks
  • Well, crying definitely won't help.

If you have command-line access to the machine, type:
    php -i | grep -i mysql
    You should get some output that looks like this:
    mysql MySQL Support => enabled MYSQL_MODULE_TYPE => none MYSQL_SOCKET => /tmp/mysql.sock MYSQL_INCLUDE => MYSQL_LIBS => mysql.allow_persistent => Off => Off mysql.connect_timeout => 20 => 20 mysql.default_host => no value => no value mysql.default_password => no value => no value mysql.default_port => no value => no value mysql.default_socket => no value => no value mysql.default_user => no value => no value mysql.max_links => Unlimited => Unlimited mysql.max_persistent => Unlimited => Unlimited mysql.trace_mode => Off => Off

If you don't, the MySQL extension isn't installed for the installation of PHP on the server.

The output of uname -awill be helpful to us in figuring out how to get that PHP extension installed.
  • …and if you don't have command line access, look for mysql in the phpinfo html page (there are tons of explanation about displaying phpinfo)