Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Configuration problem

edited December 2008 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
Hi, I am a newbie to Vanilla and MySQL, although i some experience using PHP. I just installed MySQL and it fails at the point where configuration is is executed. The Prepare configuration, writing configuration and Restarting service checks out, but "Apply security settings" step fails with error number 1045, saying "Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: YES)". What i don't understand is that first, there is no root account on this computer there is only one account is the Administrator.Also, i don't get the point of the configuration asking a current password and new password. What password, the password to the Administrator account which i am trying to use vanilla from which is the current user. I tried both the current password and the new password are the same and i still get the same result. Also, i tried it with the anonymous account only. And when this passed, the mysqladmin create command would not work. i had to uninstall mysql and re-install and i got the same thing. The first time i installed mysql, i didn't have this problem but something else did not work and that is why i re-installed. Any help to clarify this is appreciated. thanks, Bramoin

Comments

• Options
    That's a MySQL error and it means the password is wrong. You may need to configure MySQL first by creating a MySQL user that Vanilla will use to communicate with the database and also creating a database to store the tables that Vanilla creates.

MySQL setup needs to be done before you try to setup Vanilla. The best/easiest way to set up MySQL is to use phpMyAdmin.

If you're on a hosted server, you may want to first see if phpMyAdmin is already installed.
  • Options