Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Indicating an administrator on the discussions page

klkl
edited March 2009 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
There is already an indicator on the comments page that lets users know when a comment's author is an administrator. What I would like to do is add this functionality to the discussions page. If you look at where it says "Started By: kl" under the discussion topic, I would like to add a piece of text or an image there that indicates that I am an administrator (assuming I were an administrator on this board). In the comments page this is easily accomplished because the $Comment->AuthRoleID attribute is retrieved as part of the row data. In fact, it's built in to Vanilla. Unfortunately in the discussions page no similar AuthRoleID attribute is retrieved. Looking at the code, and at extensions dealing with similar functionality, it appears this will require adding some SQL to the SQLBuilder. I have not played much yet with the SQL part of Vanilla, so it would take me some time before I could be sure I was writing correct code to do this. Has anyone already done this, or is there an extension that I don't know about that does this? How would you go about adding this feature? Thanks

Comments

• Options
    edited March 2009
    You're correct in that the GetDiscussionList() method doesn't retrieve the Role IDs of the users. Here is an extension file that will make those available in the Discussion Object so you can then utilize them in the theme files: