Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

[SOLVED] Can I change the way my vanilla page looks or not?

edited November 2010 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8
Hello there, I am very new to all of this... I downloaded and installed Vanilla 2 and have it up and running on my site... very excited... I was able to put a banner of my choosing up but I would really like to change the colors. My site is mainly black and white and I would like the forum to be as well but I do not know how to change it or if I can. I have tried to download a theme and put it in the theme folder on my server but don't know what to do beyond that.
Also can I put a link back to the home page of my site on the vanilla forum? Thanks so much for your help.
Jen....
Tagged:

Comments

• RaizeRaize vancouver ✭✭
    To activate a theme, just go to the theme menu in your dashboard and click on "apply" once you've put the theme in the appropriate directory.

The easiest way to edit the color of the theme is by learning CSS and modifying the stylesheet file.

You can create a link to your home page by learning HTML and inserting it into the theme file.
  • I don't have an apply in my dashboard! Did I put the them in the wrong directory? It is currently in www/mywebsite/vanillaforums/vanilla/themes/joie-1.2/joie and inside that folder is a design folder, a view folder, and, a screenshot.png, and, about.php. Thanks for your help.
  • MarkMark Vanilla Staff
    Try moving it to:

www/mywebsite/vanillaforums/vanilla/themes/joie
  • I moved it and nothing different. In my dashboard it says: "/mnt/w0302/d09/s12/b032bff6/www/whathedid4me.com/vanillaforums/vanilla/themes folder, you can enable it here." just under the heading manage themes... again thanks for helping me out
  • MarkMark Vanilla Staff