Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Can I make my own custom css for an already custom (non-default) theme?

edited January 2012 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8

Hi there.

I'm using the EmbedFriendly theme. I've made some of my own changes to it (in its custom.css folder). When a new version of EmbedFriendly comes out in the future, I'd like to retain these changes. I've taken note of the changes in notepad, but I'm worried when a new version comes out and I have to re-integrate them I might run into trouble (I'm not good with computers) and this would not be good for my forum users. I'm wondering if there's a more efficient way to do it?

I was thinking of switching the EmbedFriendly theme to the default theme folder and then making my own cusom theme for it, except there's no css files in the default folder. I read the readme in the default folder but I'd like clarifications, because I don't understand.

Thanks so much in advance for any assistance, it's greatly appreciated!

Best Answers

• sahotataransahotataran Developer, Bay Area - CA ✭✭✭
    edited January 2012 Answer ✓

save your file as say : custom2.css in your theme/yourtheme/design/ folder
    and then open your embedfriendlythemehooks.php

find Base_Render_before hook and

add

$Sender->AddCSSFile('custom2.css'); 

your css will be added in the end and will apply your changes to your theme styling

There was an error rendering this rich post.

Also that "1." confused me, but it seems it only occurred because you put a quote thingy around your text in this forum.

thats the styling for code and pre tags - your dont put it in your themehooks - put the line without 1.