Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Making Vanilla "Pluggable"

edited November 2005 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
First of all, let me say thanks for such a great forum system. I am a long time web developer in systems such as PostNuke and other open source CMS's and I am constantly frustrated by the forums available such as phpBB. Their security holes, shoddy and difficult to use template systems, and inflexibility is out dated and it is time for a change. I have seen comments on other threads regarding the next version of Vanilla and how it will be easier to "bridge" it to other systems such as Joomla or other CMS's. I am curious as to how that is going to be implemented and I have a suggestion if it is not too late as to how it could be done. One system I have worked with and been very happy with is Chat Blazer. It is a commercial chat system that comes with a java based socket server and a java client. What I like about it is that the configuration of the system consists of several XML files. One of those is a database schema definition. Basically, there is a very easy to understand XML file that maps internal column and table names to a physical database name. All queries are run through an engine that parses the database XML file and translates the internal name to the actual database name. What that allows me to do is plug Chat Blazer into our application and point it at our existing users table. I looked through the code and the SqlBuilder class to see how easy it would be to do this same type of thing but it does not look like the current system could be easily adapted like this. If you would like an excerpt of the database configuration XML I would be happy to get that for you to use as an example/explanation of how it works. Great job on the forum so far, keep up the good