HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

[gitHub #1364] Allow users to delete their own posts

HotBlackHotBlack New
edited May 2012 in Feedback

I am quite new to vanilla forums, and have been overall quite impressed by vanilla as a modern forum system. I do however have a problem, is it possible to have an option to let users delete their own posts (in addition to being able to let them edit their own posts). When users (not admins) delete posts it would be nice that it was replaced with a placeholder pointing out a user has deleted their post.

Note: I am running 2.0.18.4, not the 2.1 development branch so some of these may be fixed already.

Tagged:

Best Answer

• UnderDogUnderDog MVP
    Answer ✓

It's a valuable addition to Vanilla, I would enter a feature request on gitHub.

Can you post the bug number after you've posted the feature request?

There was an error rendering this rich post.

Answers

• hbfhbf wiki guy? MVP

HotBlack said:
    I am quite new to vanilla forums, and have been overall quite impressed by vanilla as a modern forum system. I do however have a problem, is it possible to have an option to let users delete their own posts (in addition to being able to let them edit their own posts). When users (not admins) delete posts it would be nice that it was replaced with a placeholder pointing out a user has deleted their post.

Note: I am running 2.0.18.4, not the 2.1 development branch so some of these may be fixed already.

They can do this simply by editing thier post and replacing the contents with something innocuous like a period.

• HotBlack said:

When users (not admins) delete posts it would be nice that it was replaced with a placeholder pointing out a user has deleted their post.

There is a somewhat of a implicit placeholder in the edit log, in dashboard if you have give permissions to view it as admin.