Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Editing the "Embed-friendly" theme

edited June 2012 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8

Hey guys!

I am completely new to vanilla forums! I now utilize one such forum on my Wordpress site and the best theme for this purpose is the "Embed-Friendly" theme.

I like it a lot, but would love to change its color scheme from blue to black or orange (or a combination). I tried editing the "hex codes" in the .css file, but it did not work.

I guess it was a naïve attempt, but thought I'd give it a try. Can you guys tell me what I need to do if I am to change the colors?

Thanks in advance!

Answers

• what files did you edit?
    you would need to edit within themes/EmbedFriendly/design

best to make changes in custom.css.

or within the theme you want to modify.

you may also need to delete the .ini files in /cache to see the effect.

I may not provide the completed solution you might desire, but I do try to provide honest suggestions to help you solve your issue.

• It was indeed custom.css I edited.

But when I simply changed the color codes, I got this message when trying to apply the theme:

"Fatal error: Cannot redeclare class EmbedFriendlyThemeHooks in /home/[...]/vanilla/themes/EmbedFriendlySunny/class.embedfriendlythemehooks.php on line 11"

• peregrineperegrine MVP
    edited June 2012

like I said - try deleting your ini files.

you could also change line 11
    to class EmbedSunnyThemeHooks implements Gdn_IPlugin {

as well as changing the name in the about file.

and read 422's documentation on themes.

I may not provide the completed solution you might desire, but I do try to provide honest suggestions to help you solve your issue.