Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Coding standard in vanilla/garden framework

nepheusnepheus New
edited August 2012 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8

I'm not an expert, just more than a novice a little bit. I've checked and tested many sources before, the code standard that makes it so obviously and basically that a verb should be lowercase and following by uppercase noun phrases (used for function name), such as: setValue, setUserEmail, etc.
When I look at the vanilla code, why it would be SetValue or SetSomething for a normal function name? Is it against the standard naming style? My feeling is that "SetValue" - style makes the code looks really heavy after all.
I decided to use vanilla to develop a small community, and It feels like I have to adapt this kind of naming style by the way. Just a little thought about the reason why it would be like that, while the standard is ... standard and it does not hurt your eyes.

And do we have any docs about the coding style and standard coding in garden framework? It really does help improve quality of plugins/addons, too.

Comments

• Options
    422422 Developer MVP
    edited August 2012

Are you kidding?

So SetValue as opposed to setValue HuRtS yOUr EYES

There was an error rendering this rich post.

• Options

the code standard that makes it so obviously and basically that a verb should be lowercase and following

???

Camel case not to do with verbs and nouns, simply words. There are variations on form, this is perfectly acceptable. Typically in English you put the action first. In other languages they do not type Valueset becuase that wouldn't work very well for differentiating the words.