Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

Cannot scroll forum using embedded themes

Total novice when it comes to this sort of stuff, but having settled on Vanilla as the source of our internal forum, I have run into a bit of a wall.

It is highly desirable for the forum to be embedded within our website rather than re-directing but having successfully set up the forum and used the embed theme, I find that the forum only displays a portion of the whole page and cannot be scrolled up and down. At the moment I am only testing it all on the local machine, so the site is not live yet but I don't suppose that is an issue in itself?

If anyone has any ideas, they would be greatly appreciated. As I am new to all of this, it would be nice if people were gentle with me! I'm happy to respond to any queries as best I can.

Thanks!

Comments

• Options

I've seen this happen on old browsers particularly with ie.

Also, I found timing problems for a custom thing I did and had to do this:

http://vanillaforums.org/discussion/comment/162440/#Comment_162440

I may not provide the completed solution you might desire, but I do try to provide honest suggestions to help you solve your issue.

• Options

I'm trying it in IE9, IE9 compatibility mode, IE7 and Chrome - all with the same-ish result. I've amended the following line in embedvanilla\remote.js:

191 document.write('

');
    return this;

and amended 'scrolling="no" to "yes"

This gave me a scroll bar in everything except Chrome, but it still wouldn't scroll the whole page - only a bit of it.

• Options
    peregrineperegrine MVP
    edited December 2012

like I said my solution was to make the change above. changing scrolling won't help anything since it has computed the incorrect height.