Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

How to properly use class theme hooks?

fr3em1ndfr3em1nd ✭✭
edited August 2013 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8

HI,

I'm pretty new to class theme hooks, what's happening now is i have created a whole new template and trying to retain .TPL as much as possible, so i started using theme hooks.. im Using Vanilla 2.1

i created a new file in the theme directory : class.MyThemeNamethemehooks.php

what i want to accomplish is to add some JS files before </head> tag

i tried this:

<?php if (!defined('APPLICATION')) exit();

class MyThemeNameThemeHooks implements Gdn_IPlugin {

public function Setup() {
return TRUE;
}
public function OnDisable() {
return TRUE;
}

}

public function Base_Render_Before($Sender) {

$Sender->AddJsFile('dialog.js','/js/modern/');

}
}

i added this: $Sender->AddJsFile('dialog.js','/js/modern/');

but no go... is there anything i missed ??

Tagged:

Comments

• KasperKasper Scholar of the Bits Copenhagen Vanilla Staff
    edited February 2013

Slight miss: Theme hooks only looks for CSS and JS directly within the design and js folders when only a file name is passed for some reason, meaning that you cannot define the path the same way you would in plugins (/js/modern/). What I usually do, is define a global variable called ThemeRoot that outputs the path to the theme directory. This way, you can add assets located anywhere within your theme without having to worry about installation structure and folder naming:

$GLOBALS["ThemeRoot"] = str_replace($_SERVER["DOCUMENT_ROOT"], "", __DIR__);

class [Whatever]ThemeHooks implements Gdn_IPlugin {

public function Base_Render_Before($Sender) {

/**
              * Don't want no nasty files in my dashboard
              */
            if (InSection("Dashboard"))
                return;