Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Compatible File Extensions

Hello,

I have a user that is trying to upload an SPSS file and is having difficulty. The system says that the file type is not allowed. I have no experience with SPSS, but the extension on his file was *.sav. I am researching whether or not he can save as a different file type with SPSS, but I was wondering if there was a way to tweak the file type permissions and whether that would be in the plugin coding or in garden. Thanks!

-Daniel
p.s. My temporary solution is to just have the user zip the file, but it would be nice if he didn't have to mess with that.

Tagged:

Comments

• GaryFunkGaryFunk Senior Application Developer ✭✭

In practice, the file should be zipped. It makes for smaller files much of the time and it adds a layer to insure that the file uploaded and downloaded correctly.

• Okay, thanks GaryFunk. I guess I will just work on teaching my users the complexities of zipping and unzipping ;)

• GaryFunkGaryFunk Senior Application Developer ✭✭

@dcrickmore zipping files is so basic, if they can click on a mouse, they can zip files.

• vrijvlindervrijvlinder Papillon-Sauvage MVP
    edited February 2013

You can add the file type in the config.php the only thing is that the files should be small enough to be uploaded without zipping.

$Configuration['Garden']['Upload']['AllowedFileExtensions'] = array('txt', 'jpg', 'jpeg', 'gif', 'png', 'bmp', 'tiff', 'zip', 'gz', 'tar.gz', 'tgz', 'psd', 'ai', 'fla', 'swf', 'pdf', 'doc', 'xls', 'ppt', 'docx', 'xlsx', 'log', 'rar', '7z', 'mp3', 'wav', 'aiff', 'mov', 'cur','ssps');
    $Configuration['Garden']['Upload']['MaxFileSize'] = '64M';