Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Free vs Paid: What are the differences?

Hello everyone. :)

I've been researching Vanilla forums for a few months, on-and-off, and I have a few questions that I've been unable to find clear answers about:

1.) Is the free, open source, self-hosted version still limited in any way? I remember reading that there was a limit on users and/or posts.
2.) I also remember reading that you cannot install custom themes with the free, self-hosted version (unlike SMF, phpBB, and others). Is this true?
3.) Lastly, I remember that the open source version isn't really meant for live usage, just developers to test plugins and such.

Please forgive me if I missed some obvious section of the site where this information is readily available. I checked google, vanillaforums.com, vanillaforums.org, wikipedia, opensourcecms, these forums, and even the sales phone number with no luck on clear answers.

I am hoping to be able to use the free version of the software to host on my own site without any limitations on themes, users, posts, or anything else. Is this possible, or do I pretty much have to use Vanilla's cloud hosting plan for any meaningful usage of the software?

Thanks!
Tim

Comments

• 1) no limit on users or posts, opensource has its own plugins and hosted have their own plugin, there may be overlap, but there might be some unavailable on hosted and vice-versa.

2) read a few discussions - there all kinds of custom themes and add-ons. self-hosted - you can do whatever your heart pleases. you are the boss.

3) false. you are confusing beta and development versions with stable version.
    2.0.1.18 is the stable open source self-hosted version - most all plugins and themes in the add-on section will work with it.