Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Can nested categories inherit custom role permissions from their parent?

I'm just getting started with Vanilla so forgive me if this is a silly question. Suppose you have a "Secret area" heading category with sub categories such as "secret forum 1", "secret forum 2", "secret forum 3". If I set "Secret area" custom permissions to only visible and writeable by admins, can reliably count on its sub categories to have the same properties out of the box, or do I have to set custom permissions for every single sub category as well?

Best Answer

Answers

• I could be wrong haven't tested, but I believe category permissions are not inherited.

What happened when you experimented?

I may not provide the completed solution you might desire, but I do try to provide honest suggestions to help you solve your issue.

• jportolesjportoles New
    edited December 2014

It does seem to work as if it inherited permissions (that is, a non-admin user could not access the sub categories in my previous example) but there's no explicit mention of this anywhere nor I can find it in the documentation, hence why I ask whether this is a feature one can rely on or not.

• peregrineperegrine MVP
    edited December 2014

It does seem to work as if it inherited permission

you appear to be correct and I was incorrect in my assumption above, it does look like it is inherited. if you are worried. you can explicitly set sub categories with custom permissions as well.

I may not provide the completed solution you might desire, but I do try to provide honest suggestions to help you solve your issue.

• Permissions do NOT cascade subcategories.

You should set all permission for each category.

grep is your friend.

• New categories inherit default category permissions