Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Help! - Page Will Not Load When I Try to Login

nateroenateroe New
edited November 2015 in Vanilla 2.0 - 2.8

I am new to vanilla forums as of yesterday, so I am likely making an amateur mistake, but I have searched online and have been unable to find a solution. Okay, here is the problem that I am experiencing:

When I login to the forum with my administrator login information from the "homepage" (The home forum page that a visitor would see.) the site gives me this message -

"Something has gone wrong.

We've run into a problem and are unable to handle this request right now.
Please check back in a little while."

Once this message appears, the site will no longer load. I am able to login through the /index.php?p=dashboard/settings and this works fine, even after the front end no longer works. After this happened, I tried to load the forum from a different browser. It worked, until I did the same (Try to login with the admin account through the forum homepage). I tried it with a third browser - same story. It worked at first, I tried to login and then that message.

My site is hosted through GoDaddy and I installed it with the Installatron feature.

Does anyone have any idea what might be causing this?

Thanks for your help!

Tagged:

Comments

• vrijvlindervrijvlinder Papillon-Sauvage MVP

You need to turn debug on . Search the forum the answer has been answered before .

• Thanks! Here is what I received from turning on the debug

test.lidarnews.com/vanilla

• I changed the permissions on /cache/Smarty/compile to 777 as I saw this suggested on a post...It did not resolve the problem

• vrijvlindervrijvlinder Papillon-Sauvage MVP
    edited November 2015