Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.
Options

editdiscussion Page Not Found

Is there something I need to toggle to make this work? I can edit as an admin but not as a normal registered user.

When I try and edit a post I made it says the page is not found.

Note - I also have this line in my config

$Configuration['Garden']['EditContentTimeout'] = '-1';

What am I doing wrong?

• Mark

Comments

• Options
    EclipseEclipse New
    edited March 2016

Try going to Dashboard>Forum>Advanced and changing the Discussion and Comment Editing field:

I'm new to Vanilla, but a value of '-1' in a 'Timeout' setting usually means 'never allow'
    Edit: I suppose it could also mean 'always allow' haha

vf2.JPG 19.8K
  • Options
    R_JR_J Ex-Fanboy Munich Admin

@Eclipse said:
    I'm new to Vanilla, but a value of '-1' in a 'Timeout' setting usually means 'never allow'
    Edit: I suppose it could also mean 'always allow' haha

You are correct :mrgreen: But when in doubt, look at the source: -1 means no timeout. 0 means immediate timeout. > 0 is in seconds. 60 * 60 = 3600 (aka 1hr)

It would through a permission error if editing is not allowed.

Look at following urls:
    1. the url of your discussion
    2. the link that you as a admin see for editing the discussion
    3. the link that a normal user sees for editing this discussion

Are there any peculiarities?

• Options
    edited March 2016

The URL of a discussion would look something like this :

http://mysite.com/community/discussion/2/start-here#latest

The URL to edit for an admin looks like this :

http://mysite.com/community/vanilla/post/editdiscussion/2

The URL to edit for a normal looks like this :

http://mysite.com/community/vanilla/post/editdiscussion/postID