Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Automatically creating upload folders?

Hello all

Here’s my problem :

The uploading feature available in advanced editor works like a dream but all uploads are mixed into …/uploads/editor/.... So is there a way to automatically create a folder with the user’s name ?
I tried this addon from jackmaessen :
https://open.vanillaforums.com/addon/sfm-plugin
But it does not work from my side, furthermore, it don’t allow other users to download.

I hope my explanations are clear enough.
Any solution ?

Thanks by advance

P.S : I’m not a coder but no fear, I’m here to learn after all :).

Best Answers

• Answer ✓

Thanks for your time, but I found another solution:

I found a "kindergarden school" (:D) which is kind enough to teach me how to code my own stuff.
    Indeed, it is not the first time I install a Vanilla forum, but for this second one, I have particular needs and to be honnest, It will be a great improvement to my personal knowledge to do it by myself.

• R_JR_J Ex-Fanboy Munich Admin
    Answer ✓

I havn't had a closer look at what is possible, but based on this few lines I'm pretty sure you can easily take influence on the "absoluteFileDestination"

You would have to find out the current user, add the users id as a path and make sure that file a) could be saved and b) doesn't overwrite an existing file.
    hat
    I'm not convinced that I would go that way, but if you think it would be good for you, I will support creating that plugin.

Get some basics about php, read the docs about plugins and as soon as you have a skeleton plugin up and running and have a basic understanding of what the following code might do, come back and ask for more details:

public function base_beforeSaveUploads_handler($sender, $args) {