Please upgrade here. These earlier versions are no longer being updated and have security issues.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Looking for assistance with a new 2.8.1 installation

This discussion was created from comments split from: Vanilla 2.8.1 is now available - Security Patches & Bug Fixes.

Comments

• edited March 2019

I'm just getting started with Vanilla. I'm going to replace some old message board software on my website, since it no longer works with PHP on our new server. My site is http://www.hotboots.com.

My problem is: How do I get the program started? I loaded it onto my site in public.html and tried going to /vanilla-core-2-B and got "404 File Not Found. The same thing with /index.php added. I moved it to the main directory and got the same results. So what I need to know is where should the program be loaded on my site and what do I type in the URL after my site name to get Vanilla started? Thank you!

• edited March 2019

A bit of progress. I downloaded the new 2.8.1 and tried that and actually got a response! It opened "Vanilla 2.8.1 Installer"! Now I have no idea what information I need to enter into "Database Host", "Database Name", "Database User" and "Database Password" for it to work. I tried the host name and password of my site (like I use for SFTP) but no luck. I got this as a response: SQLSTATE[HY000] [2002] php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Name or service not known.

Larry