HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Category structuring problems

This discussion was created from comments split from: Vanilla 3.1 is now available.

Comments

• OK. I will admit that I am very new with Vanilla Forums (as a user) and running a forum in general. So pretty much a noob. I'm trying to install Vanilla 3.1 into my website. Install went fine. And I started tinkering/adding with the categories. The first thing I noticed was I cannot get past compressing the categories to only show the main categories on the home page. The home page shows all categories and subcategories equally. The subcategories are not even indented. I would prefer to only have the main categories on the front page, and users drill down from there. I don't mind if the home page expands to show the subcategories of the main category the user clicked, or if the home page is updated to only show the subcategories of the main category clicked.

I would have thought, this would have been an easy problem to solve. But I cannot find any answer for this in the documentation. I wondered if the CSS Class was controlling this message. All my categories/subcategories have the same class, Category-general. Which I got from the sample install. Are there any other CSS Classes defining these categories? I couldn't even find CSS Class in my search of the documentation. Can the documentation be downloaded? Would it help?

I also want to make the main categories non-postable. They are only there to provide a menu of the subcategories.

Any help with this (simple) problem would be appreciated.

• R_JR_J Ex-Fanboy Munich Admin

When you create a category, you can choose "Display as" as "Heading" and that prevent users from posting to that category. When you have structured your categories as being child categories, the html will look (simplified) like that:

<ul class="DataList CategoryList">