HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

How to change special characters in Pretty URL's?

Hi,

At first, i am not good at English and sorry for possible grammar faults.

In Turkish, we have some special characters like ğ, ş, ç etc. and Vanilla does not convert them g, s, c in URL's. It uses them as they are.

I have read oldest topics about it, but could not find any clear solution. Could you help me, please?

Thanks.

Answers

• R_JR_J Ex-Fanboy Munich Admin

Well, if I try it in my forum with "In Turkish, we have some special characters like ğ, ş, ç etc. and Vanilla does not convert them" I get the following title: /discussion/108/in-turkish-we-have-some-special-characters-like-g-ş-c-etc-and-vanilla-does-not-convert-them/p1?new=1

As you can see, some of those characters are converted: ğ and ç, but not ş. You need to change a core file in Vanilla, which I normally do not suggest. Do this:

1. Open /library/core/class.format.php
    2. Search for a line beginning with protected static $_UrlTranslations (should be line 1593)
    3. It ends with 'ї' => 'yi']; make that 'ї' => 'yi', 'ş' => 's'];

If you find more letters which are not substituted, do the same with them.

It would be great if you can make pull requests for that on the GitHub repo. 😉

• imyusyilimyusyil New
    edited April 2020

Thanks @R_J ,

But I had tried it with adding categories in dashboard and it is valid for ğ, ç and all other special characters. Normally, all forum softwares I used converted them. I think, there should be an option in settings to convert unicode aliases to English ones like in Joomla.

Also, I have tried to add a pull request for that on GitHub, but "Create pull request" button was not active. So, I failed in this subject.

• R_JR_J Ex-Fanboy Munich Admin

Maybe I did not understand you, sorry. Where do you want to change the letters? In "example.com/categories/şomeçinğ"?