HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Masonry/ "Best of..."-style view on all categories

Hi there,

was wondering, how to set up something like the "Best of..." view in this very forum. (Dug up this older thread but seems like the user had a different question or is just inactive now.)

1. Is this some hidden function in vanilla or is it CSS/JS only? (couldn't find a plug in either)
  2. Would it be possible to turn any category into a view like this? (not based on ratings but based on date)

As a side note: I am not a web developer and have limited CSS skills (JS close to none). 😬

thanks,

g

Comments

• K17K17 Français / French Paris, France ✭✭✭

Hi ^^

The Best Of option you see here is the one that comes with Vanilla Cloud only, not the open source one.

But, you can find an addon called "YAGA" that mimics this feature for Vanilla Open Source. The up-to-date one is seen at https://vanillaskins.com/plugins.html#yaga (the one available on vanillaforums.com will not work correctly in 3.3)

• thanks @K17 for the info. I am actually using the YAGA plugin already. unfortunatelly i can only access said "best of" page. I was hoping for a way to get a list of any category/ tag page in that same masonry view. but that's not possible, correct? (the hosted service of vanilla with almost 700$/month is sadly not an option for us.)

is there a way to change how post lists are displayed in general? would like to see the content including posted media of the first post in the list.

thanks

• R_JR_J Ex-Fanboy Munich Admin

That's no function of the hosted version either.