HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Merge fixes in GitHub with 3.3

So there are some bugs that I found that are fixed in the version that is in the GitHub Repository. If I installed 3.3 from the site and an official release how do I go about importing changes from the GitHub to fix the bugs I am having? Should I just replace the files that fixed the bug?

Comments

• TimTim Operations Vanilla Staff

I wouldn't copy individual files into another version. If you want to run the github version, you should install the whole thing by checking out or downloading master from Github and using that in its entirety.

Take a backup first (database and config), get master from github, put your backed-up config into the new installation and see if that works for you.

Don't forget to hit utility/update afterward.

(I am not a lawyer and this is not medical advice. Good luck)

Vanilla Forums COO [GitHub, Twitter, About.me]

• Is the utility/update so that it updates the database to conform with this version?

Like if I wanted to migrate from our version to the GitHub version I would just upload the new files and run this update? Obviously from a test server first

• MrCaspanMrCaspan
    edited January 2021

So I am looking at doing this soon... I would just upload the master from GitHub to a blank site and then just connect it to my existing database then run the update after that?

• KasparKaspar Moderator

Yes but clone your db.

Test with the clone.

Better safe than sorry.

• Yep i have a dev copy i am testing on.. I get this error

Could not find the autoloader. Did you forget to run 'composer install' in '/home/mainnu/public_html/dev.domain.com' 

Also in the root folder there seems to be junk files all over the place.. Do I really need half these files? In the original install there is like 3 files index.php, bootstrap.php, environment.php, .htaccess

• KasparKaspar Moderator