Vanilla 1 is no longer supported or maintained. If you need a copy, you can get it here.
HackerOne users: Testing against this community violates our program's Terms of Service and will result in your bounty being denied.

Locked Myself out of Admin

patsjvpatsjv
edited November 2008 in Vanilla 1.0 Help
I'm new to Vanilla so go easy on me. While playing with settings I managed to limit the administrator functions, and have now managed to lock myself out of accessing the 'settings' tab. Is there a simple way to reset the default administrator role permissions to make them complete again? I'm now an 'administrator' without the ability to change settings. Ugh.

Comments

• ithcyithcy New
    edited August 2006
    do you have access to phpMyAdmin or some other database tool?
    if so, go into your LUM_Role table, find the Master Administrator record, and look for the Permissions field.
    it will look something like this:
    a:39:{s:23:"PERMISSION_ADD_COMMENTS";i:0;} etc.
    now VERY CAREFULLY paste that entire field into a text editor, look for the parts that say "PERMISSION_(whatever);i:0" and change them to PERMISSION_(whatever);i:1 instead.
    copy and paste the new value back into into the database.
  • I'm alive again, Ithcy. Thanks for walking me through it and saving me.
  • glad i could help :)
  • I did that once myself, and kicked myself for not being more cautious, until someone showed me the way out too. I guess it taught me a lesson! I wonder how many people have done this?
  • MarkMark Vanilla Staff
    I wonder if I should disallow a role from editing itself?

That would make sense - and prevent access escalation attacks.